Contest Rules - 2CMAX Climate Rap Contest

2° MAX is an original contest created and designed by EcoNova to elevate youth awareness on the climate system and its disruptions and empower participants to take action and become an active part of the climate crisis solution.

The participants will be able to attend a series of online workshops over the summer holiday. They will then write, perform, film, and edit a video of rap on the topic of climate. The video will be their contest entry. A jury of experts will review the submissions and determine the winner(s) for each category.

 

Eligibility:

  • The contest is open to Canadian students (any province or territory excluding Quebec) in grades 7 to 12 (or 12 to 19 years old in age) in 2021.
  • The contest is open to individuals and groups of a maximum of 4 participants.

 

Entry:

  • An individual or a group may only submit and participate in one video (either as an individual or as part of a group).
  • If the participant is under 18 years of age, all videos must be submitted by a parent or a legal guardian, or by the participant with a written and signed authorization from the parent or legal guardian.
  • Video submissions can be in either English, French, or both.
  • The use of other languages such as First Nations traditional language or foreign language is accepted to a maximum of 10% of the word count as per the transcript and under condition a translation is submitted in the transcript.

 

Deadline:

  • All submissions must be uploaded to the submission form betweenSeptember and October 1st, 2021 at 11:59pm PST.
  • Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony scheduled online for October 15th.

 

Video Content:

  • All types of videos including live action, animation, claymation, stop-motion, music videos are accepted.
  • Rap is the main style of the contest, however, slam poetry, country, singing, or other musical artistic expressions are accepted.
  • We encourage the participants to use their creativity and knowledge about climate sciences or their climate story. The general topic direction is – “Climate: Help keep our planet cool: #2degreesMax”
  • Entries will be upload on Youtube on the EcoNova’s Channel. A link to upload the video, the lyrics and to accept conditions of the contest will be posted on EcoNova’s website: www.econova.ca econova.ca
  • Entries must be between 60 seconds and 120 seconds long.
  • Videos must be submitted in MPEG format.
  • Videos must not exceed 55MB.
  • Videos must minimize background noise while filming.
  • Entries that exceed the given time and/or don’t comply with EcoNova’s Contest Rules, YouTube’s Terms of Service and YouTube’s Community Guidelines will be disqualified.
  • Entries that contain explicit material, profanity, and nudity will not be accepted. We encourage entries to be bold, scientifically accurate, creative and original.
  • Participants may use the provided beats, sound samples, or original sounds to construct their rap.
    No copyrighted music, visuals, lyrics, or other media is permitted within the video.
  • Participants must provide the lyrics as performed in the video in one of the following formats Doc, page, or PDF).

 

Judging:

  • We encourage the participants to use their creativity. The general topic direction is – “Help keep our planet cool: 2°C Max”
  • The winning videos will be selected by a panel of judges including members of EcoNova Rap Contest Team as well as the Ambassadors and announced on October 1st, 2021.
  • Videos will be judged based on whether they demonstrate creativity, originality, scientific-accuracy, technical quality, performance, and overall message.
  • Scientific content requirements. Videos and raps need to cover one or more of the following core scientific concepts:
    - 1) What is climate?
    - 2) Climate is warming, and climate is changing
    - 3) It is caused by human activities
    - 4) Scientific experts agree
    - 5) Climate Change has negative consequences for the world and Canada
    - 6) We can fix it

 

Advice:

  • Although, attending to the learning workshops is not an obligation for participants, we strongly encourage participants to register and attend. The learning workshops will help participants you to create a high-quality video.
  • Video submissions are encouraged to share your unique climate story through integrating local observations you have made and how the climate crisis has impacted your life or your views, integrating local solutions, and/or incorporating indigenous knowledge and learnings into your presentation of scientific evidence.
  • References to the Paris Climate Accord, the COP26 (United Nations Conference of Parties in Glasgow in 2021), 2050 Canadian “carbon neutrality targets”, and keeping the global temperature increase “well below 2 Celsius degrees” are also encouraged.

 

Prizes Categories:

  • 1st, 2nd and 3rd best videos:
    • 1st Best video winners will be offered a professional recording and edition of their work with our partner and Ambassador GMCBeats. It will be finalized not later than October 22nd.
    • 2st and 3rd best video winners will be as well offered a professional recording and edition as a medley (a remix of the two videos) with our partner and Ambassador GMCBeats. It will be finalized not later than October 22nd.
    • Other prizes range in value and will be revealed on our website once the contest registration opens
  • Special recognitions will be awarded to:
    - Most inspiring video (action oriented, emotional, impactful)
    - Most creative video production
    - Most Passionate Performance
    - Most Science-focused video

 

Indemnification:

  • By entering the Contest, each entrant releases and holds EcoNova harmless from any and all liability for any injuries, loss or damage of any kind to the entrants or any other person, including personal injury, death, or property damage, resulting in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, from acceptance, possession, use or misuse of any prize, participation in the Contest, any breach of the Contest Rules, or in any prize-related activity.
  • Each entrant agrees to fully indemnify EcoNova from any and all claims by third parties relating to the Contest, without limitation.

 

Right Clearance:

  • By submitting a video, each entrant shall retain all right, title and interest, including copyright in and to the video, and shall grant to EcoNova a worldwide, gratuitous, irrevocable, and exclusive licence to copy, use, modify, reproduce, display, adapt and transmit the video for use in all media.
  • The entrant hereby confirms that the video is an original work, solely created by the entrant, and that no third party participated as an author, co-author, photographer or otherwise in the creation of the video or any part thereof. EcoNova assume no responsibility for any claims of infringement of rights to copyright, privacy and/or personality, and all such liability shall remain with the entrant. In addition, each entrant represents to EcoNova that the video does not infringe any copyright interest of any third party.
  • EcoNova reserve the right to exclude any video on the basis of concerns relating to the rights of third parties, including but not limited to privacy, copyright, defamation, rights of personality, obscenity or hate speech.

 

Limitation of liability:

  • EcoNova décline toute responsabilité en cas de vidéo perdue, rendu tardivement, inintelligible, falsifiée, endommagée, mal acheminée ou incomplète, ou pour tout dysfonctionnement informatique, internet, logiciel, téléphone, matériel ou technique pouvant survenir, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, les défaillances qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur la transmission ou la non-transmission d’une participation.
  • EcoNova assumes no responsibility or liability for lost, late, unintelligible, falsified, damaged, misdirected or incomplete entries, or for any computer, online, software, telephone, hardware or technical malfunctions that may occur, including but not limited to malfunctions that may affect the transmission or non-transmission of an entry.
  • EcoNova is not responsible for any incorrect or inaccurate information, whether caused by website users or by any of the equipment or programming associated with or utilized in the Contest or by any technical or human error which may occur in the administration of the Contest.
  • EcoNova assume no responsibility for any error, omission, interruption, deletion, defect, delay in operation or transmission, communications line failure, theft or destruction or unauthorized access to, or alteration of, entries.
  • Entrant assumes liability for injuries caused or claimed to be caused by participating in the Contest, or by the acceptance, possession, use of, or failure to receive any prize.
  • EcoNova assume no responsibility or liability in the event that the Contest cannot be conducted as planned for any reason, including those reasons beyond the control of the EcoNova, such as infection by computer virus, bugs, tampering, unauthorized intervention, fraud, technical failures, or corruption of the administration, security, fairness, integrity or proper conduct of the Contest and/or the Contest Website.
  • • By participating in a Contest, each entrant agrees to be bound by the Contest Rules. Entrants further agree to be bound by the decisions of EcoNova, which shall be final and binding in all respects. The Sponsors reserve the right, in their sole discretion, to disqualify any entrant found to be: (a) violating the Contest Rules; (b) tampering or attempting to tamper with the entry process or the operation of the Contest, the Contest Website, or any related promotional website; (c) violating the terms of service, conditions of use and/or general rules or guidelines of any EcoNova’s property or service; and/or (d) acting in an unsportsmanlike or disruptive manner, or with intent to annoy, abuse, threaten or harass any other person.

 

Termination, Modification and Responsibility:

  • EcoNova reserves the right, in their sole discretion, to terminate the Contest, in whole or in part, and/or modify, amend or suspend a Contest, and/or the Contest Rules in any way, at any time, for any reason without prior notice.
  • These are the official Contest Rules. The Contests are subject to applicable federal, provincial and municipal laws and regulations. The Contest Rules are subject to change without notice in order to comply with any applicable federal, provincial and municipal laws or the policy of any other entity having jurisdiction over the EcoNova and/or the Contests.

 

Social Media & Press:

  • This Contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by any social media platforms on which the Contest may have been promoted and/or publicized, including but not limited to Youtube, Facebook, Instagram, and/or Twitter. Any personal information provided in connection with the Contest is being provided to EcoNova and not to YouTube, Facebook, Instagram and/or Twitter. Any questions or comments regarding a Contest must be directed to EcoNova and not to any of the social media platforms on which the Contest may have been advertised.

 

Privacy Rights:

  • By participating in the Contest, each entrant:
    1. (i) grants to EcoNova the right to use his/her personal information provided when he/she enters the Contest and the video (collectively the “Personal Information”) for the purpose of administering the Contest, including but not limited to contacting and announcing the winners and coordinating the provision of the Contest prize;
    2. (ii) grants EcoNova the right to use his/her Personal Information for publicity and promotional purposes relating to the Contest in any and all media without further compensation unless prohibited by law; and
  • (iii) acknowledges that the EcoNova may disclose his/her Personal Information to third-party agents and service providers of EcoNova in connection with any of the activities listed in (i) and/or (ii) above.

 

 

 

Criteria for Judging:

• Art and impact

• Writing comprehensively

• Creative editing fun and interesting

• Creative input (rap editing as a whole)

• Scientific accuracy on climate science

• Story telling (a call-to-action, highlight solution)

• Performance (rap singing #1)

• Originality (content and in the way it’s performed, watching out for copied rhythm and style)

• Rapping choreography passion expressiveness

• Quality (is it well filmed, cinematography, stable filming, sound quality, mixing)

• Video image

• Sound (left and right ear coherent)

• Length 2 min max

• Not exceed 55 MB (iMovie use it for free and useful tool)

 

 

en_CAEnglish (Canada)

Règles – 2CMAX Concours de Rap Climatique

2° MAX est un concours original créé et conçu par EcoNova pour sensibiliser les jeunes au fonctionnement du climat et à ses perturbations afin de permettre aux participant.e.s d’agir et de devenir actrices et acteurs des solutions à la crise climatique.

Les participant.e.s pourront assister à une série d’ateliers en ligne durant les vacances d’été. Ils apprendront à écrire, jouer, filmer et monter une vidéo de rap sur le thème du climat. Leur vidéo constituera leur participation au concours. Un jury d’experts examinera les participations et déterminera le(s) gagnant.e(s) pour chaque catégorie.

 

Admissibilité :

  • Le concours est ouvert aux élèves canadien.ne.s (toute province ou tout territoire confondue hors Québec) de la 7e à la 12e année (ou de 12 à 19 ans) en 2021.
  • Le concours est ouvert aux individus et aux groupes d’un maximum de quatre participant.e.s.

 

Participation :

  • Une personne ou un groupe ne peut soumettre qu’une seule vidéo (à titre individuel ou en groupe).
  • Si le/la participant.e est âgé.e de moins de 18 ans, la vidéo doit être soumise par un parent ou un tuteur légal, ou par le/la participant.e avec une autorisation écrite et signée du parent ou du tuteur légal.
  • Les vidéos peuvent être présentées en anglais, en français ou dans les deux langues.
  • L’utilisation d’autres langues, comme la langue traditionnelle des Premières Nations ou une langue étrangère, est acceptée jusqu’à concurrence de 10 % du nombre de mots indiqué dans la transcription et à condition qu’une traduction soit fournie dans la transcription.

 

Date limite :

  • Toutes les participations doivent être téléchargées sur le formulaire de soumission entre le 1er septembre 2021 et le 1 octobre 2021 au plus tard à 23 h 59.
  • Les gagnant.e.s seront annoncés lors de la cérémonie de remise des prix qui aura lieu en ligne le 15 octobre 2021.

 

Contenu vidéo :

  • Tous les types de vidéo, que ce soit un film, de l’animation, du stop-motion (argile ou autre) et les vidéoclips, sont acceptés.
  • Le rap est le style principal du concours, mais la poésie slam, le country, le chant ou d’autres expressions artistiques musicales sont acceptés.
  • Nous encourageons les participant.e.s à utiliser leur créativité et leurs connaissances sur les sciences du climat ou leur propre expérience du climat.Le sujet général est le suivant : « Le climat : comment aider notre planète à rester au frais : 2 °C Max ».
  • Les participations seront téléchargées sur la chaîne YouTube d’EcoNova.Un lien pour télécharger la vidéo, les paroles et accepter les conditions du concours sera affiché sur le site Web d’EcoNova : econova.ca
  • Les vidéos doivent durer entre 60 et 120 secondes.
  • Les vidéos doivent être soumises en format MPEG.
  • Les vidéos ne doivent pas dépasser 55 Mo.
  • Les vidéos doivent minimiser le bruit de fond pendant le tournage.
  • Les inscriptions qui dépassent le temps imparti et/ou qui ne sont pas conformes au règlement du concours EcoNova, aux conditions d’utilisation de YouTube et aux lignes directrices de la communauté de YouTube seront disqualifiées.
  • Les entrées qui contiennent du matériel explicite, des grossièretés et de la nudité ne seront pas acceptées. Nous encourageons les entrées à être audacieuses, scientifiquement précises, créatives et originales.
  • Les participants peuvent utiliser les rythmes, les échantillons sonores ou les sons originaux fournis pour construire leur rap.
    Aucune musique, visuel, paroles ou autre média protégé par le droit d’auteur n’est autorisé dans la vidéo.
  • Les participant.e.s doivent fournir les paroles de la vidéo dans l’un des formats suivants : Doc, Page ou PDF).

 

Évaluation des vidéos :

  • Nous encourageons les participant.e.s à faire preuve de créativité.Le sujet général est le suivant : « Le climat : comment aider notre planète à rester au frais : 2 °C Max ».
  • Les vidéos gagnantes seront sélectionnées par un jury composé de membres de l’équipe du concours de rap EcoNova ainsi que des ambassadeurs. Les gagnant.e.s seront annoncées le 15 octobre 2021.
  • Les vidéos seront évaluées en fonction de leur créativité, de leur originalité, de leur exactitude scientifique, de leur qualité technique, de leur performance artistique et de leur message général.
  • Exigences en matière de contenu scientifique.Les vidéos et les raps doivent couvrir un ou plusieurs des concepts scientifiques de base suivants :
    – 1) Qu’est-ce que le climat?
    – 2) Le réchauffement climatique, le changement climatique
    – 3) La crise climatique est causée par les activités humaines
    – 4) Les experts scientifiques s’accordent sur ce sujet
    – 5) Les changements climatiques ont des conséquences négatives sur la planète et au Canada
    – 6) Nous pouvons y remédier

 

Conseils :

  • Bien que la participation aux ateliers d’apprentissages ne soit pas une obligation pour les participant.e.s, nous les encourageons fortement à s’inscrire et à y assister.Les ateliers aideront à créer une vidéo de haute qualité.
  • Nous encourageons les participant.e.s à partager dans leur vidéo leurs histoires personnelles sur le climat en intégrant leurs observations locales et comment la crise climatique a impacté leur vie ou leur point de vue, en intégrant des solutions locales, leurs connaissances et les enseignements autochtones dans leur présentation de preuves scientifiques.
  • Les références à l’Accord de Paris sur le climat, à la COP26 (Conférence des Nations Unies à Glasgow en 2021), aux « objectifs de neutralité carbone » canadiens pour 2050 et au maintien de l’augmentation de la température mondiale « bien en deçà de 2 degrés Celsius » sont également encouragées.

 

Catégories des récompenses :

  • 1re, 2e et 3e meilleure vidéo :
    • Les gagnant.e.s de la première meilleure vidéo se verront offrir un enregistrement professionnel et un montage de leur travail avec notre partenaire et ambassadeur GMCBeats.Cette vidéo sera finalisée au plus tard le 22 octobre.
    • Les 2ème et 3ème meilleurs vidéos se verront également offrir un enregistrement professionnel et une édition en medley (un remix des deux vidéos) avec notre partenaire et ambassadeur GMCBeats.Cette vidéo sera finalisée au plus tard le 22 octobre.
    • Les autres prix varient en valeur et seront révélés sur notre site internet lorsque les inscriptions au concours débuteront.
  • Des récompenses spéciales seront accordées à :
    – la vidéo la plus inspirante (axée sur l’action, l’émotionnel, l’impact)
    – la production vidéo la plus créative
    – la performance la plus passionnée
    – la vidéo la plus axée sur les sciences

 

Indemnisation :

  • En participant au concours, chaque participant.e libère et dégage EcoNova de toute responsabilité en cas de blessures, de pertes ou de dommages de quelque nature que ce soit sur les participant.e.s ou à toute autre personne, y compris en cas de blessures corporelles, décès ou dommages matériels, résultant en tout ou en partie, directement ou indirectement, de l’acceptation, de la possession, de l’utilisation abusive ou non de tout prix, de la participation au concours, de toute violation du Règlement du concours ou de toute activité liée aux récompenses.
  • Chaque participant.e s’engage à indemniser EcoNova de toutes les réclamations de tiers concernant le concours, sans limitation.

 

Autorisation des droits :

  • En soumettant une vidéo, chaque participant.e conservera tous les droits, titres et intérêts, y compris les droits d’auteur de leur vidéo, et accordera à EcoNova une licence mondiale, gratuite, irrévocable et exclusive pour copier, utiliser, modifier, reproduire, afficher, adapter et transmettre la vidéo pour utilisation sur tous supports.
  • Le/La participant.e confirme par la présente que la vidéo est une œuvre originale, créée uniquement par le/la participant.e, et qu’aucun tiers n’a participé en tant qu’auteur.e, coauteur.e, photographe ou autre à la création de la vidéo ou d’une partie de celle-ci. EcoNova n’assume aucune responsabilité pour toute réclamation de violation des droits d’auteur, de la vie privée et/ou de la personnalité, et toute cette responsabilité incombe aux participant.e.s. En outre, chaque participant.e déclare à EcoNova que la vidéo ne porte pas atteinte aux droits d’auteur d’un tiers.
  • EcoNova se réserve le droit d’exclure toute vidéo en raison de préoccupations relatives aux droits des tiers, notamment en ce qui concerne la vie privée, le droit d’auteur, la diffamation, les droits de la personnalité, l’obscénité ou les propos haineux.

 

Limite de responsabilité :

  • EcoNova décline toute responsabilité en cas de vidéo perdue, rendu tardivement, inintelligible, falsifiée, endommagée, mal acheminée ou incomplète, ou pour tout dysfonctionnement informatique, internet, logiciel, téléphone, matériel ou technique pouvant survenir, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, les défaillances qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur la transmission ou la non-transmission d’une participation.
  • EcoNova n’est pas responsable en cas d’informations inexactes, qu’elles soient causées par les utilisateurs.rices du site internet ou par l’un des équipements ou des programmes associés au concours ou utilisés dans le cadre de celui-ci, ou par toute erreur technique ou humaine pouvant survenir dans l’administration du concours.
  • EcoNova décline toute responsabilité en cas d’erreur, d’omission, d’interruption, de suppression, de défaut, de retard de fonctionnement ou de transmission, de défaillance de la ligne de communication, de vol ou de destruction, d’accès non autorisé ou de modification des participations.
  • EcoNova n’est pas responsable des blessures ou des dommages causés à un.e participant.e ou à un ordinateur lié à la participation ou au téléchargement de documents liés au concours.
  • Le/La participant.e assume la responsabilité des blessures causées ou prétendument causées par sa participation au concours ou par l’acceptation, la possession, l’utilisation ou l’omission de recevoir un prix.
  • EcoNova n’assume aucune responsabilité dans le cas où le concours ne peut être mené comme prévu pour quelque raison que ce soit, y compris pour des raisons indépendantes de la volonté d’EcoNova, telles que l’infection par un virus ou des bugs informatique, des erreurs de manipulation, en cas d’interventions non autorisées, de fraude, de défaillances techniques ou de corruption de l’administrateur réseau, de la sécurité, de l’équité, de l’intégrité ou de la bonne conduite du Concours et/ou du site internet du Concours.
  • En participant au concours, chaque participant.e accepte d’être lié par le règlement du concours.Les participant.e.s acceptent en outre d’être liés par les décisions d’EcoNova, qui sont définitives et contraignantes à tous égards. Les commanditaires se réservent le droit, à leur seule discrétion, de disqualifier tout participant.e jugé.e coupable : (a) d’avoir enfreint le Règlement du concours; (b) d’avoir altéré ou tenté d’altérer le processus d’inscription ou le fonctionnement du concours, du site internet du concours ou de tout site internet promotionnel connexe; d’être en violation des conditions de service, des conditions d’utilisation et/ou des règles ou lignes directrices générales de tout bien ou service d’EcoNova; et/ou (d) agir de manière non sportive ou perturbatrice, ou avec l’intention de nuire, d’abuser, de menacer ou de harceler toute autre personne.

 

Résiliation, modification et responsabilité :

  • EcoNova se réserve le droit, à sa seule discrétion, de mettre fin au Concours, en tout ou en partie, et/ou de modifier, amender ou suspendre le Concours et/ou le Règlement du Concours de quelque manière que ce soit, à tout moment, pour quelque raison que ce soit, sans préavis.
  • Ce sont les règles officielles du concours.Les concours sont assujettis aux lois et règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux applicables. Les règles du concours peuvent être modifiées sans préavis afin de se conformer aux lois fédérales, provinciales et municipales applicables ou à la politique de toute autre entité ayant compétence sur EcoNova et/ou les concours.

 

Réseaux Sociaux et Média :

  • Ce concours n’est en aucun cas commandité, approuvé ou administré par les plateformes de réseaux sociaux sur lesquelles le concours peut avoir été promu et/ou publié, notamment YouTube, Facebook, Instagram et/ou Twitter.Tous les renseignements personnels fournis dans le cadre du concours sont fournis à EcoNova et non à YouTube, Facebook, Instagram et/ou Twitter. Toute question ou tout commentaire concernant un concours doit être adressé à EcoNova et non aux plateformes de médias sociaux sur lesquelles le concours pourrait avoir été annoncé.

 

Règles de confidentialités :

  • En participant au concours, chaque participant.e :
    1. Accorde à EcoNova le droit d’utiliser ses renseignements personnels fournis lorsqu’il/elle participe au concours et lorsqu’il/elle soumet sa vidéo (collectivement les « renseignements personnels ») à des fins d’administration du concours, notamment pour communiquer avec les gagnant.e.s et annoncer les gagnant.e.s et coordonner la remise du prix du concours;
    2. Accorde à EcoNova le droit d’utiliser ses renseignements personnels à des fins publicitaires et promotionnelles relatives au Concours dans tous les médias sans autre compensation, sauf si la loi l’interdit ;et
  • Reconnaît qu’EcoNova peut divulguer ses renseignements personnels à des tiers mandataires et fournisseurs de services d’EcoNova relativement à l’une ou l’autre des activités énumérées en (i) et/ou (ii) ci-dessus.

 

 

 

Critères d’évaluation :

·       Art et impact

·       Rédaction des paroles

·       Montage créatif, amusant et intéressant

·       Contribution créative (montage rap dans son ensemble)

·       Exactitude scientifique de la science du climat

·       Raconter des histoires (appel à l’action, mettre en évidence la solution)

·       Performance (prioritairement rap)

·       Originalité (contenu et manière de l’interpréter, ne seront attentif au plagiat de rythme et de style)

·       Passion pour la chorégraphie

·       Qualité (vidéo bien filmée, cinématographie et prise de vue stable, qualité sonore, mixage)

·       Image vidéo

·       Son (oreille droite et oreille gauche cohérentes)

·       Durée maximale de 2 min

·       Ne pas dépasser 55 Mo (iMovie est une ressource gratuite conseillée)

 

 

fr_CAFrançais du Canada